Chocolate Coma   Leave a comment

I’m Catholic and every year during Lent, our family traditionally gives something up for 40 days. This is supposed to be a sacrifice to mirror Jesus’ 40 days of temptation in the desert. You can also “do” something extra for 40 days too, but I tend to give up something very dear to me every year: chocolate.

Now, to clarify, this isn’t just some “oh, isn’t chocolate so delish?” kind of paltry addiction. This is a bone-deep need I have: chocolate and I go way back, we have a history. So to give it up for 40 days is the biggest sacrifice I can think of. And during those 40 days, I thought of chocolate everyday, but I didn’t give in and I’m proud of myself.

So yesterday, once we got home from Easter Sunday mass, I savored my first bite of chocolate in 40 days. My husband (only half-jokingly), asked if I wanted some time alone with my Cadbury egg. I laughed and said no, of course not (only half-jokingly). If Jesus can be tempted by the devil for 40 days and make it, I can live without chocolate for 40 days. But not more than that. 🙂

Today for lunch anyway, I met my wonderful husband and we had a nice time, chatting and eating. I don’t realize how much I miss him during the week with all the running!

Hope you all had a great Easter weekend.

Enlightenment:

  • Chocolate is life.
  • Husbands are cool.
Posted April 9, 2012 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in Food, People

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

