Nom Nom   Leave a comment

Last night I didn’t sleep well. Which means I didn’t get up in time this morning. Which means I didn’t have time to pack my lunch. Which means I had to buy this for lunch today:

The grocery store down the road from where I work has a pretty decent deli with prices that aren’t too horrible. I got this salad for $2.

While I was there, there was a woman guiding around what appeared to be three newbies, young, probably still in high school. She was talking in a super condescending voice (“If, and only if, you’re a shining star will we even consider taking you on full-time.” Yes, she said shining star.) and she annoyed me. I was glad she wasn’t my boss.

That made me start to think of my first job. I think I was in 8th grade and I worked at the local DQ-copycat place called the Dairy Whirl. The owners totally took advantage of my trusting nature and shorted me on quite a few paychecks until my parents noticed there were some discrepancies and stepped in. But it taught me to always look at my paycheck, so I guess lesson learned there.

You see how a salad can lead into a story about when I was a teenager? Nicely played.

Enlightenment:

  • Cheap isn’t always bad.
  • Always look at your paycheck stub.
Posted March 13, 2012 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in Food, People, Places, Thoughts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

