The Hunt   Leave a comment

Is it a full moon tonight? Seriously have had some weird people coming to see me today!

Anyway, Christmas is coming as you all know, and this year my contribution to food will be a corn and bean dip. It’s a sweeter salsa-type concoction that my mom makes once in a while, but I feel confident that I can make it as good as she does.

One of the ingredients is shoepeg corn. Never heard of it? Neither had I when I got the recipe. But it is an actual ingredient and last year the local grocery store carried it.

This year? Not so much.

Last night, I went and checked out the store I purchased the corn from last year but could not find it anywhere. Today over lunch, I went to another grocery store and they didn’t have it either. There are two other stores I can try, one is a higher end one, and so hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to find it.

You might be wondering, won’t ordinary corn do? I mean, really, do I have to be such a fancy pants to get “shoepeg” corn? The answer is no, ordinary corn won’t work. Regular corn is somewhat bland. The shoepeg corn is sweeter and kind of pops in your mouth, and is actually the main reason this dip is so good.

So if you’re out and about and see this lovely can, please pick me up two or three. I will reimburse you . . . after Christmas. 🙂

Enlightenment:

  • Christmas is both fun and stressful at the same time.
  • Try a new recipe today!
Posted December 21, 2011 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in Food

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

