Lunchtime Blues   1 comment

I really like the Harry Potter series. I know, they’re Young Adult books, but I don’t really care. They are well written and interesting. So off I went to Barnes and Noble today to pick up the 2nd to the last book in the series: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I figured I would jump over to B&N, grab the book, pop over to Leeann Chin’s for an egg roll, and get the first chapter read before needing to go back to work.

Good plan, right?

Well, enter the horrible traffic of this blessed town. First of all, it’s noon, so people are out in force, driving 20 in a 40 MPH area, switching lanes with no signals, and riding bikes for crying out loud. It’s 16 degrees, get a car.

I finally made it to B&N and discovered they moved the Harry Potter display they usually have when you walk in. I tried to find the books in the fiction section, but they weren’t there, so I had to ask someone. The worker brought me back to the kiddie section (seriously, down the aisle from “Goodnight Moon”) and there they were. I hurriedly grabbed one and headed up front to check out. Only to find that the line was 8 people deep. Deep breath. I’ll wait.

Finally, I got checked out and scooted over to Leeann Chin’s to grab my egg roll and luckily there wasn’t much of a line. The lady in front of me was practically getting a free meal with all the samples she was requesting to try, but I got in and out of there pretty quickly. Thank you, Leeann Chin’s workers.

Back to my car. Crap. I have five minutes, that’s not much time to read, I’d better head back to work. But, enter crazy traffic again. I was actually 10 minutes late for work because I of course A: hit every stoplight and B: had to drive defensively. I actually saw one woman in the left hand turn lane put it in reverse so she could get into the next lane, causing much honking and “gestures”.

The next time I venture out for lunch prior to Christmas, please remind me to go at 11:00 a.m. or just stay in the building. It’s safer there.

Enlightenment

  • Good books know no age limits.
  • God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.
Posted December 9, 2011 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in Books, Places

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Lunchtime Blues

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Try again after work?

Leave a Reply

