Last Day for Four Days!   Leave a comment

Oh, Thanksgiving how I adore you. Not because of the amazing food my mom and mom-in-law make, but because it gives me a four-day weekend and that in itself is almost as delicious as the food.

Today, because it’s sunny and warmer and it puts me in a good mood, I decided to make two stops. The first one was a necessary stop and the second one was a fun stop.

First stop, back to Petsmart. I realize I was there the other day getting new litter (which is working out nicely, by the way) but today the cat also needed food.

It was NOT on sale (grumble, grumble).

Then off I went to McDonald’s. Because . . . I HAD A COUPON!

So I stopped to get a peppermint mocha, which actually wasn’t too bad, but I like the caramel mochas a bit better (not that I have them very often). But hey, free makes it awesome.

Then to end my lunch break, I got a call from my daughter’s teacher at school. Uh oh. But it was a good call, just keeping me up to date on how she’s doing, what she needs to work on, questions she had, and why my daughter was mad at me this morning. (It’s a long story but it has to do with alarm clocks and busses.) I like my kids’ teachers very much, they are very involved and caring and wonderful.

So that’s what I’m going to be thankful for this Thanksgiving: the fact that my kids go to a school where people care about them and they don’t get lost in the shuffle.

Enlightenment:

  • Free stuff tastes better. Go find some coupons today.
  • Pets are expensive sometimes, but still fun as part of the family.
  • Being a teacher is one of the most thankless jobs in the world. Be sure to get a teacher a Christmas gift this year. They deserve it.

 

Posted November 23, 2011 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in Places, Review, Thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

