Today’s the Day!   Leave a comment

I have a bit of an editorial I’d like to purge onto you.

There are many, many women out there who wear multiple hats. They work outside the home full time, raise children, make dinners, clean the house, get groceries, get toilet paper, do the laundry, cater to their bosses, be a wife, be a daughter, sister, mom, and chauffeur. And through it all, they are expected to be helpful, happy, and giving. How do women do it?

Just this morning, I had a bit of a meltdown. Not externally, but internally. I just felt myself crumble as I wondered “why can’t I do it all? Everyone else can.” As I felt this way, I called into work and told them I would be an hour late. Then I laid in bed and tried to collect my thoughts. This is what I came up with:

  • Kids do not like to go to school, even though it’s been less than a month since school started.
  • Pets, while cute and fluffy, make additional work for moms.
  • No one will cater to you, you’ve got to do it yourself, no matter what.
  • It’s easy to fall into the self-pity mode, but I also wonder why shouldn’t we? We do a lot of stuff!
  • Everything costs money.
  • Moms do not get a sick day. Deal with it.

There were other thoughts that crossed my mind, some not so nice yet true. Those did not make it onto my list here.

I feel like we’re always running, always having somewhere to go. For example, this week. Monday evening I work late, came home and did bills. Tuesday there is a meeting at my kids’ school. Wednesday there is a meeting at our church. Thursday I teach piano lessons. Friday, as of now, there is nothing going on so I will be at home cleaning a week’s worth of “drop and go” mess while the kids are at their grandma’s house. No wonder September has just flown by!

Like I said, I’m in a bit of a self-pity mode today, so please no comments about “pull up your boot straps and make the best of it.” I will. I’m just having a moment of weakness today.

(Disclaimer: Yes, I realize there are people out there who have it worse than me, including women with no kids who are just as busy. I get it.)

Anyway . . . 🙂

For lunch today, I made a quick run to Target. My sinus rinse was used up this morning and during this season, one missed day means a 850% increase in me getting a sinus infection. So here is my miracle stuff:

And a rebate on this one too, hooray!

Have a happy day everyone. Consider my above ramblings your enlightenment, and add this:

  • Don’t take your wife, mom, sister, etc. for granted.
  • It’s okay to have a bad day once in a while. It proves you’re human.
Posted September 27, 2011 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in People, Thoughts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

