Pondering   Leave a comment

I have a good car. It’s a 2001 Grand Prix. It’s rusty and doesn’t have a CD player, but it runs like a top and the engine is still doing great. So I’m going to keep it until it dies on me for good.

Today I thought that day had come.

I went to get in my car at lunch, and it “dinged” at me when I opened the door, but when I tried to start it . . . (insert eerie silence here)

I tried again. Nothing.

Luckily, my ever-smart husband knew something was up with my little rust-buddy, so he put a jump pack in my truck last night, just in case. Bless his heart.

So I was able to get my car started again and went off to my destination – Amdahl Hearing.

For those of you who don’t know, I got hearing aids after years of needing them. I didn’t even realize I DID need them but now that they’re in my ears, I can’t figure out where all the damn chirping birds came from. Seriously, I hear a lot more now, specifically high-pitched sounds, like birds and women who speak in soprano voices (or baby talk).

After my appointment, my car started right up again (good rust-buddy) so I was able to get back to work with five minutes to spare.

The moral of the story?

A: Buy a jump pack if your car is older than 10 years old.
B: You don’t need a fancy car to get around.
C: If your car breaks down, don’t panic. Just call your husband who will calmly explain how to fix the problem.
D: Chirping birds are LOUD if you haven’t heard them in years. Enjoy them!

So all in all a sweat-inducing, stress-increasing, yet hear-better kind of lunch break. I can’t remember the last time I had one of those.

Posted August 16, 2011 by Lunchtime Enlightenment in People, Places

Leave a Reply

